independent and unofficial
Prince fan community site
Mon 12th Nov 2018 12:26pm
Welcome! Sign up or enter username and password to remember me
Forum jump
Forums > General Discussion > Flac to mp3 converter question
« Previous topic  Next topic »
Reply   New topic   Printable     (Log in to 'subscribe' to this topic)
Author

Tweet     Share

Message
Thread started 11/03/18 8:10pm

databank

avatar

Flac to mp3 converter question

Hi smile

.

I have this problem when I try to convert Flac to mp3@320, that for live recordings or any other tracks in a continuous sequence, I get a little gap between tracks. It's like a quarter of a second, but one can still hear it. I've tried several audio converters and yet it happens all the time.

.

Do you know of a free (or cheap) audio converter that would not do this?

.

Thx hug

A COMPREHENSIVE PRINCE DISCOGRAPHY (work in progress ^^): https://sites.google.com/...iscog/home
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #1 posted 11/04/18 1:19am

olb99

avatar

Most players I'm using do this even even with AAC or FLAC files, so, often, the problem is the player, not the codec/container. IIRC, the MP3 format is originally not gapless, as it's not sample accurate (i.e. you can't have MP3 files of an arbitrary length, it must be a multiple of the length of an MP3 frame), but back in the day some players supported custom tags to allow gapless playback even with MP3 files.

.

It's still not a solved problem. I've had this problem for the last 20 years and I've largely given up... confused

.

For more information, I guess: https://en.wikipedia.org/...s_playback

.

Let us know if you find a solution.

[Edited 11/4/18 1:20am]

 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #2 posted 11/04/18 3:22am

databank

avatar

olb99 said:

Most players I'm using do this even even with AAC or FLAC files, so, often, the problem is the player, not the codec/container. IIRC, the MP3 format is originally not gapless, as it's not sample accurate (i.e. you can't have MP3 files of an arbitrary length, it must be a multiple of the length of an MP3 frame), but back in the day some players supported custom tags to allow gapless playback even with MP3 files.

.

It's still not a solved problem. I've had this problem for the last 20 years and I've largely given up... confused

.

For more information, I guess: https://en.wikipedia.org/...s_playback

.

Let us know if you find a solution.

[Edited 11/4/18 1:20am]

I use Winamp and it's absolutely gapless with properly ripped mp3's or Flac's so it's definitely neither the format not the player that are in question. There has to be a way to rip CD's with absolutely no gap, as well as to convert Flac to mp3.

A COMPREHENSIVE PRINCE DISCOGRAPHY (work in progress ^^): https://sites.google.com/...iscog/home
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #3 posted 11/04/18 9:23am

TrivialPursuit

Why are people still using MP3s??? There is a mistake in the original coding which causes certain sounds not to come across in the final file. Your ears are tricked into hearing something that isn't really there. There are other compression formats that are superior and recognized by almost any player.

This experience will cover courtship, sex, commitment, fetishes, loneliness, vindication, love, and hate.
http://bit.ly/1D3FG2U
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #4 posted 11/04/18 10:01am

olb99

avatar

That would be my advice as well: use a 21-year old technology (AAC) instead of a 25-year old technology (MP3), unless you have a really good reason not to. biggrin But I'm not sure it will solve your problems (gaps).

 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #5 posted 11/04/18 10:52am

Graycap23

avatar

I use Mediahuman audio converter.

Why on Earth woud u want 2 convert to MP3?

Better off converting to some type of lossless file.

[Edited 11/4/18 15:17pm]

FOOLS multiply when WISE Men & Women are silent.
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #6 posted 11/04/18 3:08pm

OnlyNDaUsa

avatar

the gap is a pain...

Anyone for banning the AR15 must be on the side of the criminal as once banned only criminals will have them.
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #7 posted 11/04/18 6:47pm

databank

avatar

Guys... Thanks for the advices and all, but...

It's, like, very disrespectful to do that, reply to a question that wasn't asked instead of the question asked.

My question wasn't quite "should I keep using mp3?", was it?

A COMPREHENSIVE PRINCE DISCOGRAPHY (work in progress ^^): https://sites.google.com/...iscog/home
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #8 posted 11/04/18 6:48pm

databank

avatar

Graycap23 said:

I use Mediahuman audio converter.

I'll try that out, thx smile

.

Any other advice is welcome in case it doesn't work wink

A COMPREHENSIVE PRINCE DISCOGRAPHY (work in progress ^^): https://sites.google.com/...iscog/home
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #9 posted 11/04/18 6:56pm

databank

avatar

databank said:

Graycap23 said:

I use Mediahuman audio converter.

I'll try that out, thx smile

Nope... still a micro-gap sad sad sad

A COMPREHENSIVE PRINCE DISCOGRAPHY (work in progress ^^): https://sites.google.com/...iscog/home
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #10 posted 11/04/18 8:09pm

OnlyNDaUsa

avatar

I use mp3s i can put 6 or 7 albums on one cd...makes it nice in the car...
Anyone for banning the AR15 must be on the side of the criminal as once banned only criminals will have them.
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #11 posted 11/04/18 10:58pm

thetimefan

avatar

https://hydrogenaud.io/in...211.0.html

Your FLACs are almost certainly fine, and the problem is almost certainly that the MP3 format includes extra audio at the beginning and end of the file.* On some transitions it will be audible, others not. The MP3 encoder may have added metadata to the file to (basically) say how much extra audio there is on each end, but it is still up to the player to support reading that info and trimming the audio during playback. Many players don't. Also, the encoders I know of which add the necessary data are Fraunhofer, LAME and iTunes/QuickTime ]


I'm assuming that is what's causing your issue. You could try trimming the silence with an audio editor like Audacity but that will give a reencoded MP3 file which you won't want. There are solutions like http://mpesch3.de1.cc/mp3dc.html but I'd recommend making a backup of any file you edit in case anything goes wrong.
[Edited 11/4/18 22:59pm]
[Edited 11/4/18 22:59pm]
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #12 posted 11/05/18 1:38am

Graycap23

avatar

databank said:

Graycap23 said:

I use Mediahuman audio converter.

I'll try that out, thx smile

.

Any other advice is welcome in case it doesn't work wink

If u have gaps.........it's time for some editing. No other choice.

FOOLS multiply when WISE Men & Women are silent.
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #13 posted 11/05/18 2:43am

olb99

avatar

Have you tried foobar2000?

.

Or, if you speak "command lines", you could try the lame MP3 encoder with the --nogaptags -and -nogap arguments. lame doesn't support FLAC files, so you'll need to convert the FLAC files to WAC files first with ffmpeg.

 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #14 posted 11/05/18 6:25am

djThunderfunk

avatar

What program are you using to convert FLAC>MP3? There should be a setting that causes/prevents gaps. I use dBpoweramp to convert and do not have this problem. However when I play back files with VLC, I get a gap no matter what the format, but, the same files are gapless on other players.

We were HERE, where were you?

4 those that knew the number and didn't call... fk all y'all!
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #15 posted 11/05/18 4:44pm

PatrickS77

avatar

databank said:

olb99 said:

Most players I'm using do this even even with AAC or FLAC files, so, often, the problem is the player, not the codec/container. IIRC, the MP3 format is originally not gapless, as it's not sample accurate (i.e. you can't have MP3 files of an arbitrary length, it must be a multiple of the length of an MP3 frame), but back in the day some players supported custom tags to allow gapless playback even with MP3 files.

.

It's still not a solved problem. I've had this problem for the last 20 years and I've largely given up... confused

.

For more information, I guess: https://en.wikipedia.org/...s_playback

.

Let us know if you find a solution.

[Edited 11/4/18 1:20am]

I use Winamp and it's absolutely gapless with properly ripped mp3's or Flac's so it's definitely neither the format not the player that are in question. There has to be a way to rip CD's with absolutely no gap, as well as to convert Flac to mp3.

If it's a studio CD, there obviously will be a gap. Not sure why that would bother anyone. If it's a live recording it depends on the player, especially if it's a standalone MP3 player. That has nothing to do with how it's ripped/converted. As a converter I usually use Foobar, to convert FLACs of live concerts to MP3s to listen on my phone. Absolutely no gaps. But like I said, it depends on the player.

 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #16 posted 11/05/18 4:46pm

PatrickS77

avatar

olb99 said:

Have you tried foobar2000?

.

Or, if you speak "command lines", you could try the lame MP3 encoder with the --nogaptags -and -nogap arguments. lame doesn't support FLAC files, so you'll need to convert the FLAC files to WAC files first with ffmpeg.

You can use the Lame codec with Foobar to convert FLAC to MP3. There is no need to do something else first.

 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #17 posted 11/08/18 9:37pm

databank

avatar

olb99 said:

Have you tried foobar2000?

I love you!!! hug yes

.

It works!!!!

.

Thx to everyone else for suggestions and ideas hug

A COMPREHENSIVE PRINCE DISCOGRAPHY (work in progress ^^): https://sites.google.com/...iscog/home
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #18 posted 11/08/18 9:38pm

databank

avatar

PatrickS77 said:

olb99 said:

Have you tried foobar2000?

.

Or, if you speak "command lines", you could try the lame MP3 encoder with the --nogaptags -and -nogap arguments. lame doesn't support FLAC files, so you'll need to convert the FLAC files to WAC files first with ffmpeg.

You can use the Lame codec with Foobar to convert FLAC to MP3. There is no need to do something else first.

Yes, and then on Winamp it plays absolutely gapless biggrin biggrin biggrin

A COMPREHENSIVE PRINCE DISCOGRAPHY (work in progress ^^): https://sites.google.com/...iscog/home
 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply #19 posted 11/08/18 10:20pm

benni

databank said:

Hi smile

.

I have this problem when I try to convert Flac to mp3@320, that for live recordings or any other tracks in a continuous sequence, I get a little gap between tracks. It's like a quarter of a second, but one can still hear it. I've tried several audio converters and yet it happens all the time.

.

Do you know of a free (or cheap) audio converter that would not do this?

.

Thx hug


Have you tried Foobar2000?

Edited to add: I hadn't read the responses but see that someone beat me to it. lol

[Edited 11/8/18 22:21pm]

 Reply w/quote - E-mail - orgNote - Report post to moderator
Reply   New topic   Printable     (Log in to 'subscribe' to this topic)
« Previous topic  Next topic »
Forums > General Discussion > Flac to mp3 converter question